jjc
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2006

zipp flash-point carbon composite wheels

Does anyone out there have any reviews on this wheel set. I kinda would like something more than the company info.
    Zipp flash-point 60 carbon composite set.
    Thanks in advance

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2006
    I have the FP40 and they didn't last 300 MILES. Look at differt options. I have heard good things about the comparable Mavics Carbon

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by lsthe3
    I have the FP40 and they didn't last 300 MILES. Look at differt options. I have heard good things about the comparable Mavics Carbon
    I would like to hear what about the wheels did not last longer than 300 miles. I was looking into selling wheels built with Flash Point rims and would like to hear the problems you had with them.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2006
    Im not an expert with wheels. The problems I ran into were the following. Overheating rims causing delamination. Hubs freezing or locking up, Spoke nipples bulling through. All of these problems seem to be common in Zipp products. If you go to the review board on this site you can see similar experiences.

On Zipps defense the initial customer service has been good at giving me a RA number. Hopefully they will send a new pair without any hassle.

jjc
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2006
    what model year did you purchase. I heard they did have some issues with the 05'
    model that they supposedly worked through.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2006
    I just bought them in June so I believe they might be 2005. Like I said the customer services was responsive. Time will tell if they follow through. From my feed back at rides it seems like the Mavics are the way to go.

Old, slow, and fat.
    Guy down at the LBS has a pair... Seem to be doing OK so far.

Other than that, they look like decent wheels.

M
    I've moved back to NoVA. PLEASE change the weather!

RoadBikeReview Member