Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2006

Advice needed- girlfriend and I just cannot ride together in a civil fashion...

I have been cycling off and on for over 20 years. My GF had always wanted to try it so I helped her get into it, but when we ride together she turns into a 12 year old and pouts because 'I will never be as fast as you.' Direct quote. I think she has made really good progress, despite the fact that she simply doesn't ride enough. No she will never be as fast as me and I don't expect her to be.
    We finished last night's ride about 150 yards apart because she reverted to junior high again, at least until I came back for her because we were losing daylight and she doesn't have any lights. Which of course pissed her off- 'I don't need a chaperone.' Well, yes you do because you have no lights and even though I would like to strangle you right now, you need to be safe.
    She admitted that she thinks I purposely try to stay ahead of her, apparently for my own ego I guess, but I almost never look at my computer for anything. I generally have no clue how fast I am going, and she wants to ride behind me! She wants me to lead, so I stay far enough ahead that she has room for variations in her speed. Sometimes I ride beside her. I always tell her that she should tell me to go faster or slower, whichever she needs. Sometimes she does.
    The ego problem lies with her, not me. She hates to not be good at something, and even worse, she hates to look like she doesn't know what she is doing. This woman has a law degree and another master's degree, so she is not an underachiever. I have zero expectations of her, except that she puts effort into it, and does her best...but she is so busy saying I can't, I can't... She admittedly has no patience for anything or anyone. I have tons of patience and it is wearing thin. I have given up trying to help her.