RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2007

My 5th custom frame- a endurance bike for a 5'0 lady

I'm a novice/amateur/hobbyist frame builder, and wanted to share my first experience building for someone else.

Here's the plan--
    My 5th custom frame- a endurance bike for a 5'0 lady-jessicacustom.jpg

Here's how it came out--
    My 5th custom frame- a endurance bike for a 5'0 lady-jessicacustompic.jpg

It's built around 650c wheels and designed to handle pretty slowly/safely/predictably, and be comfortable. In the design i was somewhat uncomfortable with how far the fit and geometry deviated from what's commercially available to smaller riders... but now that the bike has some miles on it i worry i didn't go far enough. I'll never really know, i guess.

I'd love to hear from those of you who have experience with small wheel'ed bikes, i've learned so much from this exercise and wish i could experience them firsthand.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    I don't have any personal experience, but I remember in the no longer published Bicycle Guide magazine one of the editors built a 650c wheeled road bike. He didn't need special sizing so his experience may be different than yours. Perhaps you can find a reprint on the internet.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014
    That looks really interesting. Nice work.

I have a friend who is 4' 11" and has disproportionately long torso and short legs/arms. As you can imagine, this is a serious fit challenge.

She own's a 42cm Long Haul Trucker with 26" wheels, and 152mm cranks, which is rideable, but she mainly just uses it for errands and such. It's not a lot of fun to ride on fast pace group rides.

She's tried the smallest off the shelf 700c frames we can find, and they are all just too tall at the front end - the 700c wheel only allows you to get so low there...