Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011

Quick question about pro women's bikes

Do pro women ride small mens bikes or WSD bikes like the wsd madones or amira for two examples.

Or do they ride tarmacs and regular madones?

RoadBikeReview Member
    If they are smart, riders of any sex choose the bike that fits them best.

I'm a male but I ride a Trek WSD. I did avoid the chartruse color, though.

Sooper Dooper Moderator!
    I'm not a pro but I ride small men's bikes. I do not have a single wsd bike.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011
    Because I work at a shop and feel weird putting women onto mens bikes. But i guess it is alright.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010
    I'm also not a pro and am a woman and ride small men's bikes. I also wear men's jerseys and gloves. Actually the only bike gloves I own are men's because women's just don't fit right at all.

Power Napper
    What do you think we rode before there were WSD bikes??? You must be awful young. And as far as I can tell bikes have no "gender." They aren't "men's" bikes, they are "people's" bikes.

Only thing I might consider a women's bike are the old style step through (mixte) frames, still made in cruiser and touring versions. Because it wasn't considered lady like to fling a leg over a frame, and if you want to wear a longer skirt while riding I suppose it might be necessary. But then these wouldn't be racers would they?

The other thing about most WSD frames is they are usually spec'd out with one level lower components than the similar "men's" bike. This is blatant crap IMO.