Thread: Size Matters?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2014

Size Matters?

I am upgrading from a 10 yr old Specialized aluminum road bike(size 54.5) to a new bike. Have shopped at 2 LBSs. I like the Specialized Ruby Comp and the Cannondale Women's Synapse. Sizing is a bit confusing. LBS #1 fitted me with Specialized Ruby 57. LBS #2 said Cannondale Synapse size 51 was the correct fit. Does size differ that much in different brands and geometries?
    I am not a super experienced rider and both bikes felt pretty good on short test rides.
    I am 5'7" with a 30 inch inseam.
    Any thoughts?
    Last edited by MtnGinny; 06-19-2014 at 12:29 PM.

More cowbell!
    That's a HUGE discrepancy! I'd suggest getting a 3rd opinion.
    DFL > DNF > DNS

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2014
    I know! Thats why I am confused. As I said before, they both felt pretty good on the short test rides, but I am not really experienced enough to anticipate what they might feel like on a long ride. Thats why I was counting on being properly fitted at the LBS.
    Last edited by MtnGinny; 06-19-2014 at 01:14 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Contact Mark Stemmy at Optimized Cycling Solutions - Home Optimitized Cycling Solutions - 530-363-2697.

He has a lot of experience measuring up pro female riders and is currently preparing a bike fit design for a lady who is just 5 feet tall.

He may be willing to produce a bike caad frame fit for you that will at least give you some certainty as to what dimensions you need. Be prepared to answer a lot of questions as he is a perfectionist in everything he does.

Too many bike shops just want to sell you something they need to clear or make a higher margin on and will make you fit the bike rather than the bike fit you.

I am 5' 8" and my new bike is a 48 centre to centre. By the way the most important measurement is top tube length. This is the one that will make or break your comfort and control of the bike.