RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2014

TONS of pain- down THERE

So I'm training for my first triathlon, a half Ironman, so I'm spending lots of time on the bike. I'm new to cycling (been a swimmer and runner), I'm experiencing MASSIVE vagina pain. Sorry, no delicate way to put it. I use tons of BUTT'r cream, have the seat recommended to me by the bike shop (vFlow by COBB) but it's to the point I can't stand even minutes on it. Super distracting and frustrating. I don't want to spend huge $$ buying a bunch of seats to try, does anyone have any good recommendations or ideas? I literally have sores down there. Please help, this is going to derail my goals. Thanks for your ideas.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Are you using cycling shorts? Are they nice and snug or loose? Do you find the chamois bunches up at all? How is your bike fit? Do you find a lot of movement in your hips when you cycle? How long were you in the saddle when you started to ride? Will your bike shop allow you to try another saddle before you buy?
    While we are free to choose our actions, we are not free to choose the consequences of our actions. - Stephen R. Covey.

Forever a Student
    Ditch that seat. Hopefully it's been not so long since you got it. Cobb has a no questions asked return policy. Replace it with an Adamo Typhoon.

I can't tell you how many women I've taken off of V-Flow seats that other shops have fit them to. It is not a long distance saddle for riding in an aggressive position. Just ask John himself. He made it for his wife to ride short distances in a very upright position. It causes women major pain and discomfort, it's a horrible TT saddle.

Watch the videos from Adamo, set it up correctly. Level the small front rails and set it back correctly and you will be pain free, I can just about promise.
    use a torque wrench

gazing from the shadows
    Pain as in bruising type pain, or chafing/raw skin type of pain? Chafing would lead me to consider the shorts first.