Am I ready for a "real" road bike yet?

Apr 2008

Am I ready for a "real" road bike yet?

Hey, I started riding an old mtb (1999-2000 somethin specialized hard rock?) a few months ago. It had been sitting in the garage forever and I decided to start riding it as my main method of transportation (after i got about 500 speeding tickets, I figured it'd be cheaper than driving). Anyway, I ride it about 10 - 15 miles a day on average, and I'm wondering if it's gonna be worth it to get a "real" road bike. I'm looking at something like a specialized allez, something for around $700 which would be a pretty big purchase for me right now so I don't want to get one unless it's going to be a pretty noticeable change from this mtb. Any good sort of guidlines or whatever for deciding when it's worth it to get a new bike?

It's not easy being green
    The Allez is a great bike for the money and will get you where you are going faster than the mtb. Just keep in mind if you are commuting, the road bike needs a little more preventive maintenance than the mtb and theft if its outside. Tires are more sensitive and pressure will need to be checked a lot more often. For fitness purposes you will have a lot of fun putting in more miles. If you are happy with the mtb, keep riding it for a while and save for a good road bike. If you commute on a mtb bike now, when you finally do get a road bike, you will be flying with a lighter bike.

Jan 2007
    The road bike will be much faster on pavement. While the Allez is a fine bike, you may consider getting a used bike for a couple reasons. 1.) you can get a bike with better components for the money. 2.) If you decide you are not into it, you can sell it and recoup your money.

If you are on a tight budget and just want something faster for commuting, you could consider getting some slicks to put on your mtb. It will role much better withour knobbies.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 99trek5200