cycling caps?

Thread: cycling caps?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2007

cycling caps?

In the spirit of the "whats with the shorts thread" I was wondering about cycling caps. I've seen pictures of teams posing in their gear but instead of helmets they wear caps. I know these guys aren't riding without helmets, so when does the cap come into play and what does it mean? Is it just a throwback to cycling style of the past? And when is it appropriate to wear one without looking like a total noobsauce?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    Some people wear them like helmet liners--- I think they look dorky... but there is not accounting for taste.

goodbye fraudriguez
    The only time I wear a "cap" is when it is raining, under my helmet. The visor helps with the rain and the hat blocks the wind a little. Otherwise, not of much use, although the short brim folds up and will not get blown off when you ride.
    mountaineer

In-House Counsel
    Jul 2005
    I also like to wear them under my helmet when it is cool out.
    -- Jimm --

RoadBikeReview Member

Wear whatever you feel like

Quote Originally Posted by chocostove
    In the spirit of the "whats with the shorts thread" I was wondering about cycling caps. I've seen pictures of teams posing in their gear but instead of helmets they wear caps. I know these guys aren't riding without helmets, so when does the cap come into play and what does it mean? Is it just a throwback to cycling style of the past? And when is it appropriate to wear one without looking like a total noobsauce?