difference between TT frame and reg. road frame + general budget buy questions

Dec 2006

difference between TT frame and reg. road frame + general budget buy questions

howdy, this is my first time posting to this site. i'm looking for advice regarding a potential purchase of my first "modern" road bike, as up to now it's been all 80s steel univega, peugot, nishiki, etc.

i've been looking at a 2003 giant TCR aero 2 bike with Xerolite XSR-3 wheels, 105/tiagra rear/front derailleurs, truvativ crankset, and clamp-on aero bars. it seems that this line of bike is more of a "time-trial" line, which apparently means they're meant more for sprints than long distances. i'll mainly be riding fairly long commutes, as well as some longer recreational rides (100+). i could get this for around $350, but i wanted to make sure i wouldn't be stuck with a frame that's too uncomfortable for distances.

other than that, i've been eyeing a 2000 lemond chambery with ultrega components, full speed ahead carbon cranks, and rolf vector wheels; as well as a 1999 fuji team with ultegra components and cranks, with velocity aerohead rims. these two would be slightly more than the giant. i'm well aware of all the hazards of fitting a bike bought sight unseen, and i have been doing my own wrenching for quite some time. i would surely appreciate any input.

Nov 2006
    TT/tri bikes generally have a geometry that is designed to put you into an "aero" position. they are by no means sprinting bikes however. sprinting bikes don't exactly exist per se, but a stiffer bike would generally be preferable to a less stiff feeling bike, all else equal

some food for thought:

aero bars mean you can take some of the weight off of your arms/upper body. this is actaully a good thing on longer rides. at century rides, one will often see more than a few riders with clip on aero bars.