Help a new guy with a Trainer & Cycle Computer

May 2009

Help a new guy with a Trainer & Cycle Computer

Hey guys. I recently bought a Giant OCR1 and started riding. I am very new to road bikes but I have enjoyed the bike so far. I am mainly interested in general fitness and trying to stay in shape. Due to my work schedule, I am not getting to ride as much as I would like so I am looking for either a trainer or rollers so I can ride late at night. I have read all of the pros and cons to each and it seems like I would be better off going with a Kurt Kinetics trainer at least at this point. I am a little nervous about the rollers and me being fairly new to clipless pedals and road bikes in general. Does this seem like the right call?

The above decision affects how I go with a cycle computer also. I would like to get one that includes heart rate monitoring. I liked the looks of the Polar CS200 but I don't think it will work with the speed sensor on the rear wheel. I am assuming that someone makes one that has a rear wheel sensor for about the same money but I have not found it yet. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

All or Nothing Baby!!!
    I bought a cycle computer that mounts to the front wheel for $22, then a heart rate monitor $25, then a computer just for my trainer (mounts to trainer and to rear wheel, then computer to handlebars) $25. I just wish i had bought a cycle computer to monitor cadence.

all this was from Nashbar, you can usually find some good deals if you signup for there e-mails.
    Zoom This!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Wrong call

Quote Originally Posted by whitlecj
    I am a little nervous about the rollers and me being fairly new to clipless pedals and road bikes in general. Does this seem like the right call?