My new road bike. What to add?
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2016

My new road bike. What to add?

trek.jpgHello, my name is Nicholas, and I am very new to road cycling. I have for many years been into mountain biking -- very avid in the sport, and recently I visited a newly opened LBS and made this purchase for $850. It was rather over the budget of what I wanted to spend on my first road bike, but the owner convinced me that this bike is a "steal" at this price and he was selling it to me at a loss so that he can start to grow his business etc. So I have committed myself and put half the money down on this bike and have agreed to pay the rest off within the week. The owner is not able to tell me the year the bike was made, which I made a big stink with him about. He said he didn't know for sure, that he got some inventory from a dentist that never used the bikes much. He made a point that the handlebars alone are $450 retail.
    Well to be honest when I test drove the bike I fell in love with it. To me it rides like a dream -- seamless and responsive. Above all, to me it seems very fast, with sharp acceleration (especially compared to the 29" MTB I ride).
    Anyways, I am not sure where I can go from here in terms of any upgrades, like a fresh wheel-set, or how I might want to improve on the set-up. I see some wheel sets that really are beautiful these days, but I am not sure if I can get something like that (not even sure how to refer to it). Not even sure what tubes to order online and believe it or not have been riding w/out spare tubes.

Thanks for the info to a road-bike newbie.

Off the back
    You'll find many Trek experts on here. I rode something similar to that on a Maui vacation once, renting it from a bike shop. I think it was early 2000's. Very nice riding bike, indeed.

Stuff I'd do:
    1. Get two real water bottles.
    2. Ditch the saddlebag...or at least get a tiny one.