New to cycling

Thread: New to cycling

davemufc1977
    May 2020

New to cycling

Hi all, I brand new to the forum and to cycling. I need your help please with choosing a bike to buy.

I am looking at two in particular the Specialized Sirrus 6.0 or the Scott Metrix 10 but i have no knowledge of which is the better bike overall. I am guessing both have plus and minus points?

Thank you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    difficult to offer any advice when you don't say what kind of riding you plan on doing.
    Ancient Astronaut theorists say, 'YES!'

Schuylkill Trail Bum
    They're both pretty high end bikes for starting out.

You can save a lot of money by buying a lightly used high end bike from an independent local bike shop.

Often, riders of high end bikes will trade up at the shop that sold the original bike. And the original (used) bike will have been refurbished by the shop, and offered at a deep discount.

If you have a trustworthy independent local bike shop (these are getting harder to find), I recommend starting there with your questions about getting started.

Where are you located?

davemufc1977
    May 2020
    The bike I am looking for will be for fitness riding mostly on the roads and cycle tracks. I am swaying towards the flat bar road bikes.

davemufc1977
    May 2020
    Thank you for the advise. I am based in Warrington I do know of a local trader in the WA5 area who has a very good reputation so I'll give him a call. I do have a Diamondback mountain bike from around 2006 which I haven't used for 10 years and i have used it a lot over the last few weeks and have really enjoyed being out using it. It's a decent enough bike but it's just a bit heavy and has chunky tyres with thick treads so isn't quite right for the type of cycling I want to do. I like the look of those flat bar road bikes.

Schuylkill Trail Bum
    Quote Originally Posted by davemufc1977 View Post