New Rider, New Bike Help
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012

New Rider, New Bike Help

So I am getting a bike this weekend and I am pretty excited...

I just started riding about a month ago and I have about 300 miles in on my schwinn s60 mtb that I put road tires on. Simply put I am tired of everyone passing me...

Most if not all of the riding will be done on paved paths. I ride mainly for fun and have no intentions right now of entering any races, riding is just easier on my knees than playing basketball.

I could really care less about brand name and I want more bang for my buck, these are the bikes that I am looking at so far:

Fuji Roubaix 1.0 Road Bike

2011 Fuji Roubaix 1.0 Road Bike -- Performance Exclusive

Scattante W-570 Women's Road Bike

Fuji SL-1-Comp Limited Edition Road Bike

. Any suggestions/recommendations are accepted and appreciated. The budget is around $1300.
    Last edited by SmilesAllDay; 04-13-2012 at 03:56 PM.

Cycling induced anoesis
    Since one of the bikes is a woman's, I'll assume you're female. That doesn't much alter my advice, but the WSD bike does have a somewhat shorter reach and taller head tube than the others, so before picking nits over specs, I suggest getting sized/ fitted and test riding the bikes of interest.

If you're proportioned longer legs/ shorter torso, you may find that the women's bike is a good fit, but that doesn't hold true for everyone, so test ride (a sampling of both standard and WSD), then decide.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009
    You'll probably be faster, but people will still pass you. Some riders have aerobic bases built up over years, it'll take you a lot of time, not just a bike, to catch up to that.

I still think you'll be happier with a road bike. They're more comfortable on a longer ride, so it'll be more fun.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2012