New To Road Cycling And Need Help!
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012

Question New To Road Cycling And Need Help!

Hello All,

As the title says, I am new to road cycling and I am in need of some help. I have never owned a road bike, always bought the cheap $200-300 'mountain bike' from the sports store down the road. I would like to get into the sport and would like to start off on the right foot. I am in it for the physical fitness and love for biking on the roads and trails. I am not looking to participate in any marathons or bike races. If anything I would like to link up with fellow bikers on a trail, and take it from there. I have been doing as much research on bikes as I can. I have found that I may be looking for an endurance bike??? Obviously, everyone has their own opinions on which bike manufacturer is the best. So, where should I start? Any ideas on a quality bike that may last me a few years (until I can spend some good money on a bike)? I wouldn't mind spending $1500 or so on a bike and equipment. I have been looking at the Trek 1.2, 1.5, and the Fuji Roubaix 3.0. A buddy of mine is all about Fuji (he bikes and knows more than I do) so I have been taking a lot of his advice. But is there a better bike for my money? Are those three bikes worth the money, and will they hold up and perform well? As I said, $1500 for my price range, just looking to do a couple weekly 10-15 mile rides, maybe a 20-30 a month, and purely enjoy the biking community. Any help and advice is much appreciated!

Thanks Guys!

RoadBikeReview Member