Newbie humbled
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie humbled

RoadBikeReview Member

Newbie humbled

So here I am, about 100 miles on my new CAAD9-5, and feeling pretty good about my progress. Avg. around 22mph on the old race track for 1.5 hour rides. A pack of around 8 riders, I guess on a local riding team (same jerseys) move in for the kill. Guys blew right past me. The track is around 1/4 mile around and although I didn't let them lap me, it did make me realize that there is lots of room for improvement. I am a runner and know my limits and pace but still havn't figured out my pace for the bike. I am having a blast riding and one day, yes one day, I will be keeping up with the pack! Anyway, just though I would share my newbie humbling experience.

Cheers!

Have any Grey Poupon????
    May 2010
    thanks for sharing, im a recent roadie noob. i've done mtb for about 2 years now. About 2 months ago i got the road bike itch and bought a 2010 Allez Sport. So far i've only ridden about 150 miles, but i have been loving every second of it. Its alot more convenient than the mtb is. I live in a fairly small town in central Louisiana with only one bike trail and my town and the nearest trails are 1.5 hours away, as opposed to pavment being virtually unlimited.

Anyways, im tossing up the idea of trading in my 2010 allez sport and my 2010 Rockhopper expert and buying a Full Carbon bike.

im just a little antsy about getting out of the mtb riding for good.
    Don't bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself- William Faulkner

Road: 2019 Giant TCR Advanced
    MTB: 2019 Giant Fathom

RoadBikeReview Member