Road Bike Newbie.. Advice acquiring decent new bike

Nov 2007

Road Bike Newbie.. Advice acquiring decent new bike

Hi. I've been riding bikes since I was a kid, in 2005 I competed in a charity road race with a 28" tourist bike and came on last.
    Then made the switch to mountain biking since then, actually owning a Giant Boulder SE with crappy suspension. Anyways, with that kind of bike I can't have a smooth ride.

I'm thinking on acquiring a new road bike (I enjoy the speed), but I don't know which bike is decent.

I'm thinking on the Forge CTS 1000 (the Sawback 5xx MTB bike has received good notes as being a 'bang for the buck'
    http://www.forgebikes.com/ctsroad.asp

Any suggestions.

ARP
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2002

Yes

Don't be a shill for the aforementioned bike dealer on your first post.

Nov 2007
    I dont know what you mean. I'm looking for a decent entry-level bike

banned from the museum
    Aug 2007
    My advice is to read the above stickied thread about buying a bike on a budget. Go from there.

Arrogant roadie.....
    Spammers......
    We are the 801
    We are the central shaft

Home Brew User!
    Jul 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by guerrero
    Hi. I've been riding bikes since I was a kid, in 2005 I competed in a charity road race with a 28" tourist bike and came on last.
    Then made the switch to mountain biking since then, actually owning a Giant Boulder SE with crappy suspension. Anyways, with that kind of bike I can't have a smooth ride.

I'm thinking on acquiring a new road bike (I enjoy the speed), but I don't know which bike is decent.

I'm thinking on the Forge CTS 1000 (the Sawback 5xx MTB bike has received good notes as being a 'bang for the buck'
    http://www.forgebikes.com/ctsroad.asp

Any suggestions.

Haven't we been there and done that?
    Joined the other team in the name of the economy

Cowboy up
    I like the part where you void the warranty of the bike by riding it.

Got Force?