Should I buy?

Thread: Should I buy?

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2015

Should I buy?

I started biking in June of last year on a used GMC Denali I bought off CL for $50. I was able to put in about 850 miles in the last 7 months (would have done more but basically had to take September off).

The Denali serves me ok but I think I'm ready for an upgrade and have been offered the opportunity to buy a 2012 Cannondale Synapse 5 with the 105 groupset for $400. It's pretty much stock from when the guy purchased it and he said it's not been ridden in a year but has been recently tuned up at the LBS. Frame is in very good condition and fits me very well (I sat on it and rode it for about 20 miles). Overall the bike looks good and rides very well. But since I'm a noob I don't want to get taken advantage of and didn't know if $400 is too high. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks guys.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    If it fits you and in good condition it's a great deal. It's infinitely better than the POS GMC bike. My GF had the Synapse in the women's version. She loved it.

2012 Cannondale Synapse 5 Triple - New and Used Bike Value
    Last edited by tlg; 01-13-2016 at 01:29 PM.
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Yeah, hell of a deal if it fits you. And it sounds like you have enough experience to evaluate that reasonably well with a 20-mile ride. You might at some point get some expert advice on the nuances of fitting (seat and bar position, etc.), but it sounds like the frame is probably in the right range.

Have fun.
    "None of us knows for sure what's out there; that's why we keep looking. Keep your faith; travel hopefully. The universe will surprise you, constantly." The 13th Doctor.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2015