Why does no one use discs in road racing and why not put discs up front too?
    RoadBikeReview Member

Why does no one use discs in road racing and why not put discs up front too?

I know in TT bikes, a solid rear wheel is best for aero. I've been reading online about cycle aerodynamics, and the benefit from a solid wheel in the front is almost twice that of adding a solid wheel in the back. I'll post the link to the site if I can find it again. Anyways, why doesn't anyone use a solid wheel in the front? I know wind could be an issue but what if you know there won't be any wind that day?

Also, why doesn't anyone in road racing use disc wheels?
    I am a Mechanical Engineer.

banned
    Apr 2006
    handling, weight, possibly banned by UCI (like aerobars for example)
    and disc up front? Not usually -> crap handling

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDomino
    As M_E suspected, the UCI mandates at least 12 spokes per wheel for mass-start racing. If the wheel does have 12 spokes or more but is "non-standard" in some other specific ways defined by the UCI, it has to be approved by the UCI before it can be used. The UCI publishes a list of approved non-standard wheels every year.

Old and Fixed, Moderator
    You mean like this?

This was an 80's time trial bike.......
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dave Hickey/ Fort Worth

My 3Rensho Blog: http://vintage3rensholove.blogspot.com/

banned
    Jan 2004
    Technically, road bikes DO use disc brakes: The rim is the disc, and the calipers grab it from both sides. What we think of as discs now tend to be heavy, some people (me) think they're ugly, and in actual riding, they don't work much better than properly set-up sidepulls.

banned
    Apr 2006

Huh?

Quote Originally Posted by Cory