1st fixed? State Contender or IRO Mark V Pro? Others?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013

1st fixed? State Contender or IRO Mark V Pro? Others?

I've been riding on the road for quite a few years and have done a fair amount of bike commuting as well. I've got a dedicated road bike and a commuter that I can load up with panniers for grocery/beer runs. I'd like to get my first fixed gear for quite a few reasons and would love some advice.

I don't have ambitions for track racing (yet) mostly because I've never road raced and am not sure it's my thing. I live in an urban environment and will be learning to ride fixed in/around a lot of car traffic. The roads aren't fantastic around here, and I know I want a steel frame.

I'd like to spend no more than $700 for this addition to my collection. The two options that seem solid so far are these:
    State Contender
    IRO Mark V Pro

First, in terms of components, which build looks to be of higher quality?
    Second, is the type of steel in the tubing of particular importance? The State is a 4130 alloy and the IRO is Reynolds 631.

Any other builders I should be looking at that would have comparably priced and spec'ed models?

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by T1G3R View Post
    I've been riding on the road for quite a few years and have done a fair amount of bike commuting as well. I've got a dedicated road bike and a commuter that I can load up with panniers for grocery/beer runs. I'd like to get my first fixed gear for quite a few reasons and would love some advice.

I don't have ambitions for track racing (yet) mostly because I've never road raced and am not sure it's my thing. I live in an urban environment and will be learning to ride fixed in/around a lot of car traffic. The roads aren't fantastic around here, and I know I want a steel frame.

I'd like to spend no more than $700 for this addition to my collection. The two options that seem solid so far are these: