2008 Felt F4 Purchase Advice
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2020

2008 Felt F4 Purchase Advice

Good morning,

I'm fairly new to cycling and want to upgrade by current cheap road bike since I'm training for an upcoming 70.3. I've come across a 2008 Felt F4 for sale for $1000 and it appears to be in great condition; however, I'm a little leary about spending $1000 on a used bike and was hoping I could get some honest opinions regarding the value of this bike. I've included the picture and listing write-up below. Any information would be greatly appreciated!
    Attached Images Attached Images

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Without having the bike right in front of me it's impossible to say. Value is very hard to place on used bicycles.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by cxwrench View Post
    Without having the bike right in front of me it's impossible to say. Value is very hard to place on used bicycles.
    Right. And the description doesn't say much.
    "Carbon Wheels" could mean anything from total crap to being worth over $1000 for them alone.

"11 speed" could be about 7 years old (or older if Campy) or could be a day old.

I can tell you that I have a high end (when I bought it) 2009 frame and I put it out there to my cycling group with a price of $0 for frame only. It's worth more than that but you get the point. An 11 year old carbon frame with a million miles on it isn't something I feel right about charging anything for. Who knows when it'll go South and crack or whatever. Maybe never but who knows.

Some bikes are better than others, no question, but the most important thing is fit and a new cyclist buying over the internet sight unseen is high risk in that area.