Cervelo R3 vs. Scott Solace vs. Scott Foil 20
    yhc
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2014

Cervelo R3 vs. Scott Solace vs. Scott Foil 20

Good morning,

I am new to road biking and am in the market for a new bike. I am considering commuting (25 miles r/t) with it and occasionally ride longer recreational trips on weekends. I have narrowed down my choices which are as follows:

Cervelo R3 w/ 2014 Frame w/ 105 components (~ $ 2030)
    Cervelo R3 w/ 2013 Frame w/ 105 components (~ $ 1800)
    Scott Solace 30 w/ 105 components ($ 1900)
    Scott Foil 20 w/ 105 components ($ 2290)

I am also thinking about Orbea Orca B M30 w/ Ultegra components for $2300 but this one will have to be ordered sight unseen w/o a test drive since I do not have an Orbea dealer near by.

Other than that I have test ridden all EXCEPT Foil, which I will try to test drive by this weekend. Any thoughts on these options? Thanks in advance for your time and input.

Regards,

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013
    Have not ridden anything but the R3 and I love it.. You will not be disappointed with the ride. I commute one way 28 miles and have had zero issues.. Look into the other bikes and see what you like, I would go for the 2014 R3, its is always a top 5 choice in any review written..

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004
    I've ridden the R3 and the Solace and I really liked both of them but I would maybe lean toward the Solace.

Curious as to how you came down to this selection because there are a ton of bikes that are in this category (Domane, Roubaix, Synapse, Felt 'Z' series and many others).

From what I understand Cervelo improved the R3 for 2014 so I'd definitely go that way if you wanted the R3. From what I know about the Foil I don't think it would be a good fit for your needs, but that is why you test ride!

RoadBikeReview Member