does this sound good? newbie buying used bike

Mar 2004

Question does this sound good? newbie buying used bike

i am 5' 8", about 140 lbs, and i'm getting a bike for training rides, and for triathlon(s). a coworker is offering to sell me her bike, and the info is below. i don't really know jack squat about different components and such. i am a newbie, just looking for a good bike to get me started. the bike below sounds like a good one, but i'm just looking for some feedback on whether people think it sounds like a good deal. the bike hasn't been wrecked, and it is in good shape.

frame: 2000 bianchi eros (52cm) (steel) (it's not the women's version of the eros...)
    stem: thomson road stem
    handle bars: poco loco (??) she can't remember, exactly

hand-built wheels from these components:
    - spokes (can't remember what kind)
    - mavic xm719 rims
    - dura ace 7700 hubs

crank: shimano ultegra triple
    shifter/brake lever: shimano 105 sti
    rear derailleur: shimano ultegra
    front derailleur: (??) she can't remember, exactly (i will check this out when i go to a bike shop to see if it is a good fit for me).

it has pedals that would work with spd-compatible shoes, and she'd also give me the "trip computer" that is currently set up on it, and her indoor trainer, too. she will sell me all of this for $800.00.

on sunday i'm going to take the bike to a shop to find out if it is a good fit for me in terms of size and such. assuming that it is a good size fit... what say ye, honorable bike nerds?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2003

depends

there are certainly better used shimano 105 bikes out there. I'd check ebay and the classifieds here for bikes in your size (assuming you know that a 52 is for you). However,
    I think steel has a nice ride. triple chainrings are useless unless you are very out of shape, have an injury, or are in remarkably hilly country.