Fuji 2014 Gran Fondo 2.1 review - first ride
    RoadBikeReview Member

https://www.fujibikes.com/images/bik...o_2.1_SIDE.jpg

Let me start out by saying I am not an expert cyclist, however, I probably have been putting in about 3,000 miles a year over the past seven years. I started getting into cycling as an exercise to replace running due to the fact that my knees just couldn't tolerate daily running after 20 years of pounding. My first road bike was a used 3RENSHO (which I still have as a back-up) which you probably never heard of, and about 5 years ago I purchased a Specialized Allez Elite. But while on vacation two weeks ago, I had the pleasure of renting and riding my first carbon fiber frame (a Trek Domane 4.0 series) which was a dramatic improvement over what I had been experiencing with my Specialized (aluminum) frame, so when I got back home, I decided to upgrade my bike to carbon fiber. My buddies who are expert cyclists suggested that if I make the move to carbon fiber, to also not settle for components worse than Ultegra, however the Trek model I rode only had Tiagra, and the version that had Ultegra was significantly more expensive. So I did some research and honed in on the 2014 Fuji Gran Fondo 2.1, which indeed had the Ultegra components, a compact gear set on a carbon fiber frame, which I purchased from my LBS yesterday. (A side benefit was they gave me $500 on the trade-in of my Specialized.). I rushed home yesterday evening to get my first ride in (I had about an hour of daylight remaining), and squeezed in 20 miles. It was absolutely an exhilarating experience, incredibly smooth riding from the way the frame seemed to handle bumps, or generally speaking, how the contours of the road are transferred to the rider, as well as how smoothly the Ultegra components handled any gear shifts. I was also able to climb the few hills on my route without ever having to leave the saddle, which is not typical for me. But an absolutely unexpected benefit was my