Help with Road Bike Brands

Oct 2004

Help with Road Bike Brands

I'm a newbie to cycling gear, so I was wandering if anyone could tell me a little about these brands (quality, how much the bikes worth etc) (I've uploaded a photo as well)

The bike's brand is "Record"
    The frame's brand is "Yamaguchi Japan" (dunno if its the same as the Colorado Yamaguchi)
    The pedals are "Shimano"

I don't know much about these brands, so plz tell me a little about them....it's too big for me to ride anyway, so im either giving it to someone else or selling it (so it'll be good if someone could give me a quote)
    Attached Images Attached Images

Arrogant roadie.....
    Well, lets see....it's got chicken levers, garbage pedals, and a chainring protector. I'd say it's worth about $10 at a garage sale.
    We are the 801
    We are the central shaft

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Too pessimistic

I'm saying it's worth at least $25, though Dave may be right about the price at a garage sale. The picture could not do a better job of obscuring the actual components (can't see the crank, derailleurs, etc.) but even then, it's pretty easy to say that the components are just cheap knock-offs. Record is a model name used for Campagnolo's top of the line parts. This bike doesn't have Campy Record parts, for sure. I'm thinking "Taiwan Record" is more likely.

flinty-eyed moderator
    "Record" is written on the downtube. I would guess 25-45 depending on location (college towns have a pent up demand for bikes like this).
    Dr. Cox: Lady, people aren't chocolates. Do you know what they are mostly? Bastards. Bastard-coated bastards with bastard fillings. But I don't find them half as annoying as I find naive bubble-headed optimists who walk around vomiting sunshine.

Oct 2004
    hahaha....ok thanks anyway

Home Brew User!
    Jul 2004

I'll buy it.