Motobecane Fantom Cross CX or Dawes Lightning Cross?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009

Motobecane Fantom Cross CX or Dawes Lightning Cross?

I'm new to biking other than riding recreationally as a young kid. I just got done with college and have a job about 4.5 miles from home that I'd like to commute to by bike. I was looking at the different types of bikes and have determined that a cyclocross bike would suit my needs best as I will be riding roads to work and also riding some gravel trails on weekends. I don't really want to spend $1000 on a bike since I'm brand new to riding so I saw two bikes on bikes direct that I thought would be alright, the Motobecane Fantom Cross CX and the Dawes Lighting Cross. The Motobecane is about $100 more but both of these bikes are in a price range that I'd be happy paying. Which of these two would be a better bike? I would also consider bumping up to the Fantom Cross or the Windsor Cyclo if the benefits of spending the extra money would be worth it. Any thoughts? Also, if I bought slick tires could these be converted into a decent all pavement bike and maybe switch back and forth with the tires for riding gravel? Like I said I am brand new to this and any input would be really helpful!

Oldie
    Jan 2006
    I was looking for a low cost way to try a "road" bike and being a mountian biker for 25 years I wanted something to ride dirt roads also. I just bought the Dawes Lighting Cross and it should be delivered Thursday. I'm planning on a touring/comuter style set up maybe some fenders,rear rack, and touring tires. I'll post what I think after I've got a few rides in.
    "You don't need a lighter bike....you need bigger muscles"

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009
    I'm now looking at these 2 bikes. (Motobecane Fantom Cross CX or Dawes Lightning Cross) Any updates or comparisons? Weight? Handling?

Thanks in advance.

duh...
    Quote Originally Posted by Brayne