Thread: New bike?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2016

New bike?

So I have a bit of a general question about possibly getting a new bike I was hoping to get others thoughts on.

As some backround, I donít road race at all but I have been doing triathlons for about 5 years so use my road bike for training/racing. I have a couple of young kids so to make the most of the time I have (and for safety reasons) I now do a lot of my riding on the trainer using Trainerroad and Zwift. I think I will likely focus more on off-road triathlons, so the racing aspect isnít too much of a consideration. I live in a fairly hilly area and the access road to one of the local ski fields is a 5min ride from home, so in just over an hour I can ride to the top and back home again and get a good workout in.

I currently ride an original Specialized Venge from 2012 I think? I have upgraded it to Ultegra Di2 (not the latest version though), Reynolds Assault SLG wheels and a 2012 Quarq Red Powermeter. So a good set up but itís not the newest.

Most my road rides will be making the most of the hills we have, and Iím not the most confident decender at the best of times. I am half considering selling my Venge and getting something with disc brakes to give me a bit more confidence and braking control when heading down some of the local hills compared to my current rim brakes on carbon braking track. The brakes end up squealing quite badly when descending the ski field access roads and I am a little concerned about heat build up effecting the tire. I have also heard that the Venge, especially my model, doesnít provide the smoothest ride. I havenít ridden anything else in such a long time I donít know if changing to something else would make a noticeable difference in terms of comfort?