Trek Domane SLR disc brittle seat stays
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2011

Trek Domane SLR disc brittle seat stays

I have a 2017 Trek Domane SLR disc bike that had the right seat stay damaged when I was run into a high curb by a car. The seat stay was scraped up and there was some cracks showing. I took the bike to my local Trek dealer and they told me the damage was fairly minor and could be repaired easily by one of their vendors. I took their advice and paid over $900.00 for the bike to be disassembled, reassembled, repaired and repainted. Bike looked great, but it was late November and I was not able to ride the bike much during the winter. It is now spring and I started riding the bike and with only 385 miles on the new repair, the seat stay on the left side(non repaired side) is now cracking. Contacted Trek and my bike shop and neither of them will take responsibility for the failed frame. They will give me 20% off of a new frame, but I will have to pay for labor. The cost is very expensive. I am a little gun shy to get another carbon frame with this design. I am wondering if the Domane carbon frame is prone to seat stay failure. I am now thinking about repairing the seat stay myself. Have anyone of you done any home carbon fiber repair with success? It seems worth a $100 bucks to give it a try and see if it works. If it does not, I am thinking about buying a titanium or steel frame and swapping all of my components to it. Could use some advise or insight on this issue.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    No, the Domane is not normally prone to seat stay failure. How do you know it's cracking? Post photos to start.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011