Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Upgrading to Carbon - narrowed down to Fuji Altamira 2.2 or Cervelo R3 - thoughts?

18K views 37 replies 14 participants last post by  Schmungbeen 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I'm new to these forums - so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong thread! I was considering posting on either the Fuji or Cervelo boards, but figured I'd get a biased answer... And didnt want to post two new threads!

Anyway, I've been doing test rides for the laste 3 months on carbon frames (upgrading from a Fuji Roubaix 1.0 with 105's) - and I think I've narrowed it down to two bikes. So, I was wondering what people think of each bike and if anyone has any good advice.

The first choice is the Cervelo R3 with 105. I actually test rode the Ultegra bike, but ultimately the frame is the same at the 105. The bike brought a smile to my face - fast, light and hyper responsive. It was at the top of my list - except the price was relatively high - $2600 for 105, $3900 (!) for the ultegra. It beat the Bianchi infinito during the test ride (I really wanted the infinito the be the bike, but the silver cervelo won that round).

The week after, I was up around my old riding grounds and had a brief test on the Altamira 2.0 (55cm frame). It seemed the perfect hybrid between the Bianchi (comfort) and the R3 (responsiveness). I thought the 55cm was too big for me, so I asked about getting in a 53cm - the dealer then telling me he could get a 2013 altamira 2.2 (with ultegra Di2) in 53cm for $2700! Of course, I requested he order one in immediately.

So I'll ask - given the choice - what would people choose? What are peoples thoughts on the altamira and/or the R3? My only issue at this point is whether the 53cm fits (though given the similar geometries of the 53cm altamira and 56cm R3 - I should be okay), or whether there are unsaid issues with the altamira frame... Or the R3 frame!?

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)