what bike to buy?

Mar 2004

what bike to buy?

ok, i am a newbie to road biking and before this year used to just ride my hardtail around on the roads and do a little off roading, but not much so i decided to get a road bike and just recently bought a friend's late 80s schwinn traveler for a few bucks. i am thinking of taking up road biking as part of my cross training for track and cross country and might enter some triathaltons since i also swim, but i figure i need to refine my biking skills first. my budget for a new bike is around 1000.00. i was looking at the 04 ocr1 or the 04 specialized allez elite. the shops around me carry giant, specialized, cannondale,klien, and lemond. out of those makes, what bikes would you suggest?

Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomcat007
    ok, i am a newbie to road biking and before this year used to just ride my hardtail around on the roads and do a little off roading, but not much so i decided to get a road bike and just recently bought a friend's late 80s schwinn traveler for a few bucks. i am thinking of taking up road biking as part of my cross training for track and cross country and might enter some triathaltons since i also swim, but i figure i need to refine my biking skills first. my budget for a new bike is around 1000.00. i was looking at the 04 ocr1 or the 04 specialized allez elite. the shops around me carry giant, specialized, cannondale,klien, and lemond. out of those makes, what bikes would you suggest?