Wilier Izoard vs...
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011

Wilier Izoard vs...

Well, I need help making a biking decision...

I'm a big guy at 6'4" and 230 lbs.

I'm relatively new to biking and currently have a really cheap bike, as I purchased a cheap bike first to make sure I enjoyed road biking before I invested a lot of money into it. I bought a 62cm GMC Denali. Like I said, CHEAP! hahaha! I think I had it shipped to my door for like $170. It has Shimano SIS Shifters, and it's got a 7 speed cog (sorry for my poor terminology) in the rear and 3 in the front for a total of 21 speeds.

I like it, it's never left me stranded, and I've enjoyed it, but I think it's time to upgrade to something a little nicer. I've only got a little over 200 miles on the bike currently, but that has been accumulated mostly in the past month or two.

The two contenders are...

NEW 2009 Wilier Izoard will a full Ultegra set. (Full Carbon)

or

NEW Felt Z85 (Aluminum frame)

I know these two bikes are extremely different both in price and material, but I am getting a KILLER deal on the Wilier, the only thing I don't like about the Wilier is the color, but beggars can't be choosers; so for now, price is not an option here.

Like I said, I am a beginner / newbie at biking so I just want to see what everyone thought about the two bikes and brands...

OR... if you think a better bike is out there for under $1200, please suggest it!

Thanks in advance!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2010
    Wow, if you're getting a brand new '09 Wilier Izoard w/Ultegra for $1200 I'd jump on that one right away....although you should test ride it first . It's more aggressive than the Felt, more for speed although the carbon should give a good ride.

If you don't get it, I'd say shoot it to me....but I need a 54!

The Felt Z will be a slightly relaxed geometry, though, so maybe more comfortable on long rides.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2011