brazed on front derailleur hanger BMC SLR01
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2015

brazed on front derailleur hanger BMC SLR01

hello, im new to this forum i tried searching for a thread but of no luck or probably dont know how to.

I purchased a used 2012 BMC Teammachine SLR01 i used it for 3 months i love the bike compared the the 2010 Specialized Tarmac Pro i have been using for almost 5 years.

Yesterday i rode it i shifted the FD to the small crank and moved it back to the big crank i just hear a pop and saw the brazed on FD hanger popped out of the frame i dont see any cracks on the frame its just a portion of the FD hanger has a CF layer, the frame where the hanger was is fine. I can even attach the hanger back with no gaps its just the 2 small front ribbit are gone and the 2 side ribbit tips are still there.

Does anyone had this happened to them before if so how did you fix it and where im in a very small town in Texas and the closest BMC Retail store is 6 hrs for all directions. Can i get a warranty for this its a used bike.

IMG_0713.jpg

Thanks
    Last edited by jdlim; 10-07-2015 at 07:47 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2011
    I have the same frame, same year, and I understand your love for it. I have about 25,000 on mine, and have never had a problem with it. I've done rides as long as a 300-mile cross-state record ride without a single saddle sore. I don't know about warranty, but I doubt that BMC would cover it, you not being the original owner. It sure can't hurt to check it out though.

I would be concerned with trying to repair this yourself, knowing that a layer of CF is still attatched to the hanger. However, if you were to experience a failure in the area while riding, it might not be catastrophic, such as something like a steerer tube failure. You might want to consider one of the aftermarket CF repair services, such as Calfee. It's possible that a repair like this would not require any finishing, so the cost might be pretty reasonable.