Campagnolo Ultra-Torque/Power-Torque BB reliability?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2009

Campagnolo Ultra-Torque/Power-Torque BB reliability?

I'm considering an Athena 11 group for a '90s steel frame I have.

I can get either the 2010 Ultra-Torque version or the 2011 Power-Torque version.

In both cases you need an automotive bearing puller to change the BB bearings. Its no problem, I'm an experienced mechanic, but looking at whats involved in servicing a modern Campy BB its not a job I would enjoy having to do regularly. Shimano/ Sram, simply pull the BB, toss it in the trash, and throw a new one in.....

Not having ridden Campy for several years, how reliable are the BBs on the Ultra-Torque/Power-Torque cranks proving themselves?

Thanks!
    Last edited by slegros; 10-25-2011 at 04:41 AM.

Bianchi-Campagnolo
    First: Get the Ultra Torque version. Crank removal is a breeze. Removing Power Torque requires special tools.

In my experience the modern Campagnolo BBs have traditional Campagnolo quality. I have CULT (ceramic) bearings on my cranks, and I've had to clean and re-oil the bearings after crap weather rides a couple of times. An easy job with Ultra Torque.

RoadBikeReview Member
    +1 on Ultra Torque.

bearings still perfect on mine after 2 years.

don't understand the logic behind PT design at all.
    We just don’t realize the most significant moments of our lives when they’re happening
    Back then I thought “well there'll be other days”
    I didn’t realize that was the only day
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9yrupye7B0

There's sometimes a buggy.
    How many drivers does a buggy have?
    One.
    So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
    and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerjulio View Post
    +1 on Ultra Torque.

bearings still perfect on mine after 2 years.