R3 seatpost clamp failure and seatpost damage
    RoadBikeReview Member

R3 seatpost clamp failure and seatpost damage

The seat post clamp on my R3 failed catastrophically and damaged my carbon post.
    The clamp is a flawed design.

Here's what happened:
    My seat post kept slipping on a ride. I weigh 198 pounds. The clamp looked fragile and I did not want to over tighten it. When I got home, I pulled out my torque wrench. I am a airplane mechanic so I know about torque. The clamp torque specs max 4.5nM on the clamp itself. So, I begin to torque it to that setting and BEFORE it got there, there was a loud bang. The bolt failed. There was no damage to the frame but it cracked my $200 Deda Superzero Post.

Here is why:
    The seat clamp nut has NO pivoting nut for the bolt. So, when the bolt is tightened, the clamp bends and the bolt holes are not parallel. This causes the bolt to bend inward towards the seat post like a bow thus --putting a tremendous force directed to the back of the post INSTEAD OF AROUND the post. It also side loads the bolt causing it to fail.

The fix:
    For $25, I found a KCNC Clamp in a 30.7mm size at Fairwheel bikes. It has a pivoting nut and a titanium bolt. It's black and looks great. It fits perfect and only weighs 12g ( only 4g more than Cervelo's poorly designed clamp ) Also, I used a carbon friction paste to keep the post from slipping. This worked like a charm. SALSA makes a 30.0mm one which works too.
    http://fairwheelbikes.com/kcnc-sc9-r...ar-p-1227.html
    This is a carbon safe clamp and won't damage your post unlike the stock one if you go to 4.5nM. Most all of the bikes with a 27.2 post have this similar design. ( Specialized, Giant,..etc.)

Conclusion:
    In the last month, I have purchased a new Cervelo S2 AND an R3. I REALLY would like Cervelo to credit me $25 for the new clamp and a new seat post or at least throw me a nice jersey or something. I followed Cervelo's torque specifications perfectly.