Having issues with losing weight
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2009

Having issues with losing weight

So, I've been having issues cutting weight. I have by no means a cyclist's build. I'm 6'2'' 270lbs. I started riding to motivate more cardio. I've never had an issue with weights and minor cardio. A month ago I got to the point where I need to lose fat. I ride four or more times a week for at least an hour and a half. I've been at 1500 calories a day for about 2 months. I eat good calories. I don't get drained during a ride. Yesterday I rode 12.24 miles in 53 minutes. There were hills and some flats. I like hills, I'm not sure why. I recently had some blood drawn for thyroid testing. It's really only only thing I can think of.

Any thoughts?

-Gianni-

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009
    dude 1500 cals is way below your bmr.whats holding you back is ur lack of food. eat more increase slowly to like 2500 cals along with riding and i bet u start dropping lots... just eat good food

disclaimer: i am not an expert just advice from past experience

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by apxbiker
    dude 1500 cals is way below your bmr.whats holding you back is ur lack of food. eat more increase slowly to like 2500 cals along with riding and i bet u start dropping lots... just eat good food

disclaimer: i am not an expert just advice from past experience

So, do you think I may be stuck in starvation mode?

For president!
    I would be really surprised if you are only eating 1500 calories a day, how are you keeping track and what does a typical day look like?
    Formidable Pharmacologically

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by SilasCL
    I would be really surprised if you are only eating 1500 calories a day, how are you keeping track and what does a typical day look like?
    Well, yesterday was

breakfast
    outmeal made w/ water - 320
    Orange juice -120