Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Heart rate

9K views 42 replies 18 participants last post by  Alex_Simmons/RST 
#1 ·
Did a 35 mile ride today. I felt great afterward. Too much headwind slowed me down a little though. Garmin showed my average HR was 84% of max, and much of the ride I was between 87 and 91% reported. In bpm, that's 156 average. I'm 41, and calculated max is 186. On an interval the other day, I hit 182(98% reported).
Wouldn't those percentages beat me up? I'm not a racer, nor am I 22 years old.

#40 ·
Aerobic training via max Heart Rate and "Grey Zone"

Hi All, I am a rookie on this forum so please forgive me if I am doing this wrong, but I have a question regarding heart rates and training as well and would appreciate anyone who could direct me....................