Honey vs Gel
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Honey vs Gel

leon2982
    May 2007

Honey vs Gel

I just tried for the first time using honey instead of gels. Maybe it was something else but I sure seemed to get a real kick from the honey. I used a mix of honey, blackstrap molasses, and sea salt. Just curious if this has been discussed previously and if there was a consensus. I'm planning on continuing with honey for now.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I used to have over a hundred hives, so I could never see paying a buck for a gel which was essentially what I was feeding my bees each spring at ten cents a pound. Honey worked fine for me, but I always found it a bit harsh if my throat was at all dry. I'd mix three tbp's into a bottle and found it worked well. Adding molasses and sea salt? Yuck!

waterproof*
    I've been using honey cut with water in a gel flask for several years now.

+1 it can hit my throat pretty harsh if I take a big gulp while working hard, so I just chase it with a swig from the water bottle.

One thing I have noticed, I can take just the tiniest little taste, not even a sip, and it perks me up and I feel better. Placebo? Who cares.
    * not actually a Rock Star

leon2982
    May 2007

Molasses and Sea Salt

The addition of a little black strap molasses and sea salt gives me my electrolytes. That way I only carry water. It's a lot easier to find water out on the road and I can use it to squirt on my back and head on hot days. The taste wasn't that bad really.

Pack Fodder.
    I'm really into Honey Stinger chews, but never could stomach the pure stuff on a ride. Just a little harsh for me.

leon2982
    May 2007

Honey Stinger Chews

I was looking at those. I'll probably try them now because I did get a knarly throat for a day after my first try with honey/molasses/seasalt.

Kind of weird how honey can make your throat knarly when so many people use it to soothe sore throats,

RoadBikeReview Member