Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Intervals?

6K views 33 replies 20 participants last post by  Cableguy 
#1 ·
I keep hearing people say do intervals, my question is what intervals should I be doing? I am new to road biking and would like to build up my overall strength and speed, can someone point me to a training regimen I should be doing. Any apps for interval training? Thanks.

#2 ·
I was in your position. To be honest, still not that far removed from your position... This is the advice I got. ANY program with intervals will do wonders for you! It did for me. I remember after doing 8 weeks of the Time Crunched program outlined in Chris Carmichael's book (with the same name) I literally felt like I could rip the pedals off my bike while riding.

Take a look at the 4 programs in that book as a good starting place. Many different intervals are explained therein. Good luck.

#5 ·
sportstracker app for android has interval in the training plans, I probably need to try it - what different types of intervals are there? I had assumed its just a couple minutes full bore riding then a cool down for 5 or so minutes. I gather now it's more complex than this?

#6 ·
Intervals are just a way to structure a workout into time periods of effort at different intensities. How you design an interval workout is a matter of knowing what the primary purpose of such a session is, and how much time you have available, and what's physiologically feasible to perform.

e.g. an interval workout designed primarily to improve a rider's threshold power will be different to one designed primarily to improve their lactate tolerance.

You can define:

- the duration of intervals (from a few seconds to 30 minutes typically)
- the duration of recovery periods (from a few seconds to 30 minutes typically)
- the intensity during interval (it may be maximal for the duration, or something less than maximal)