San Diego Commute 15 miles, 17 miles or 40 miles
    Bikaholic

San Diego Commute 15 miles, 17 miles or 40 miles

So I will most likely be moving out to San Diego soon to start a new job. I'm curious about a few commuter options.

First a little background. I've been commuting for around 2 years. 7 or so months while I was on co-op about 5 miles each way to work on city streets. Then, while I've been back at school about 2 miles each way on side walks. I consider myself an avid biker (mainly mountain). I really would like to commute to work every day.

So here is the deal with san diego. I'll be working at North Island and living in La Jolla.
    From the looks of it, my options are bike to downtown and take a ferry across about a 15 mile bike each way. The downside of this option is the cost and the time that the ferry runs (starts at 9:00 in the morning?)
    The next option would be to bike to a bus stop down town and take a bus across the coranado bridge This would probably be about 17 or so miles and would still cost and I'd have to put up with bus scheduling.
    Finally the beefiest option, suck it up and commute all the way around the peninsula and straight to work this turns out to be about a 40 mile one way trip.

The riding will be a combination of bike lane, bike path and recommended streets.

My equipment will most likely be a Planet X Kaffenback with an ultegra dura ace setup on it. I'll most likely run rear panniers to carry clothing and the such too and from work.

If there is anyone familure with San Diego and the commute advice would be awesome. Otherwise just general longer commute or urban commuting imput would be great too.

Thanks,
    -Palek

Ride today...
    ... you might not be able to tomorrow

Big is relative
    Quote Originally Posted by comuter
    So I will most likely be moving out to San Diego soon to start a new job. I'm curious about a few commuter options.