tires, tires, tires

Jan 2008

tires, tires, tires

Hello all, this is my first post here, I am relatively new to commuting and have a small question. I have a hybrid bike, which I love due to being a avid mtn biker, and it came with 28c tires. My question is that when they wear out would I be wise to replace them with a larger size? It seems to ride a little rougher than I would like, and was wondering if the larger tire size would soften that up without slowing me down to much. I am also wondering what a good tire in that size might be, I know mtn bike tires, but have no clue about road or cross' tires. I ride mostly rural roads out here in AZ with very, very small rollers. Thanks for any input.

Tim
    Last edited by sparky821; 01-18-2008 at 06:18 PM.

What'd I do?
    The speed depends on what you replace them with, and how sensitive you are to it. There are definitely faster and slower road tires, but most folks in this forum don't care much about speed. Just durability, comfort and handling (not necessarily in that order).

As for comfort, when you need to replace the tires, just get some 32c, and see if you can tell the difference, or even some 35's. Most people I've seen make that switch can tell a difference right away, even if they don't know why.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by sparky821
    It seems to ride a little rougher than I would like, and was wondering if the larger tire size would soften that up without slowing me down to much.
    How's your air pressure? Less than maximum will soften the ride without a significant add to rolling resistance.

Jan 2008
    I am running about 80 psi front and rear. The ride is not that bad, I just would like a little more cush. My mtn bike has 6" front and rear, so going to a full rigid with skinny tires was a little bit of a shock to me. It is mostly my hands that need the softer ride, would a carbon bar give me that cush, Then I could keep the smaller tires?

Tim