Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

Bontrager Buzz-Kill Harmonic Dampers

I saw these things featured on Tour coverage and wonder if they make a difference.
    http://www.bontrager.com/Road/Parts_...ories/5882.php
    Anyone have experience/comments?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2005

Quick Demo at LBS

One of the sales guys at my LBS (really good store) took an al bar and dropped it on the hard/carpeted floor - lots of ringing noise as you'd expect. Took another one with the Buzz-Kill and dropped it - just a thunk. Then I saw them on the tour. I'll wait till they have some experience with them on the road and see what they think.

Don't know if they were the Al or the Brass version.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I've been using them for several months and in my opinion they make a noticable difference. Much of the road vibration in my cheap bontrager bars seems to be absorbed and are now more comfortable. Also, since Trek is having their tour sale, they should be on sale at a bike shop that features treks. The cheaper set is like 6-7 dollars right now at my LBS because of the sale

Adorable Furry Hombre
    Quote Originally Posted by pjkad
    I saw these things featured on Tour coverage and wonder if they make a difference.
    Methinks that just using some cheap corks would do a similar trick much cheaper...see the thread on General FMI

HTH
    YMMV
    TIA
    "Refreshingly Unconcerned With The Vulgar Exigencies Of Veracity "

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2005

You would be correct for the demo

Quote Originally Posted by Room 1201
    Methinks that just using some cheap corks would do a similar trick much cheaper...see the thread on General FMI

HTH
    YMMV
    TIA