Developed a wobble
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2014

Developed a wobble

I have been riding on my wheels for a couple years without an issue and suddenly I noticed I had developed a wobble in the rear. I was truing the wheel when I heard something rattling around. Anyway I pulled off the rim tape (Stans) and spun the wheel and a chunk of metal fell out. My thought was it's a piece of the rim butt weld.. I looked that over and figured it looked good.

Then truing the wheel I noticed one nipple bottomed out and I looked at my spokes inside and thought that they were maybe 2ml to long. So then I ordered up a set of spokes and nipples going 2ml shorter on the driveside and 1ml shorter on the non drive side.

When I took the original wheel apart it all became apparent as the spoke nipple had broken half of the head off and that is why it was bottoming out.

Anyway I spent $50.00 to rebuild my wheel when all I needed was a new nipple which I already owned.

Lesson learned. The good news is I have a fresh spoked rear wheel. When I opened up my wheelsmith spoke prep it was all dried so I went down to the hardware and bought some plumbers sealant. You know you can use that white tape or the sticky paste stuff. So I used the sticky paste stuff.