Disc brake 101 question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2018

Disc brake 101 question

I am new to discs. On rim brake bikes, the brake pad wears out and needs replacing every now and again.

What is the disc brake equivalent? The pads inside the calipers? The rotors themselves?

And roughly how long do these parts last (I get that it depends on the riding and all that, but comparative to rim brakes)?

Thanks.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Think about the disc brakes on your car. Pads wear more frequently than the rotors.

It's really hard to say how long. Depends on your riding conditions and the type of pads you use. I find that disc pads wear significantly faster than rim pads.
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

Slowski
    Stock pads in wet conditions will wear much quicker. In cyclocross it is pretty common to go through a few sets of stock (organic) pads in a season. Sintered metallic pads will last longer, but may sacrifice some feel.

I haven't run discs on road, but I imagine the same to be true.

JSR
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006
    You have to pay attention to both the pads and the rotors. Pads should be replaced when the pad material reaches 1mm thickness. Rotors should be replaced when they reach 160mm thickness (typically). I think I got two years on my rotors and pads, replacing them at the same time.

I have Shimano BR-RS805 brakes. Changing the pads could not be a simpler exercise. Five minutes max.

You need to know whether your rotors are “center lock” or “ 6-bolt” type. Once again, replacement is uncomplicated.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by JSR View Post
    Rotors should be replaced when they reach 160mm thickness (typically).
    160mm (6.3") ? Those are some thick rotors

Different manufacturers recommend different min thicknesses. It should be stamped right on the rotor.
    Shimano says 1.5mm
    Sram says 1.55mm