RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011

An informative but negative review on pressfit bottom brackets

I'd say Leuscher Teknik pretty much hit all the nails on this

In the comments section, one of the posters said this about pressfit BBs:

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Trageser
    Press fit BBs are marketing BS. NO advantages over threaded due to all the issues , tolerances involved and especially the money! Ask any seasoned mechanic about issues. I was a machinist for 30 years. I installed bearings in aerospace , medical and defense hardware. The tolerances involved for proper bearing installation are
    .0002 of an inch.
    The Bicycle industry simply can never afford to do press fit correctly. The scale and cost of machinery and quality control is beyond the cost of ‘affordable’ high end bikes. Outboard bearings in threaded shells are plenty stiff.
    to which Leuscher Teknik replied:

Quote Originally Posted by Leuscher Teknik
    Agree. The advantage is it is easier for the factory to make and pass the problem to the end user.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2015
    There's an interesting podcast from CyclingTips about this. It's also about T47, but goes into what's wrong with press fit, and why it's used (it's cheap and easy to manufacture and market):

https://cyclingtips.com/2016/10/cycl...romise-of-t47/

My personal experience is mixed. Two bikes have been fine, two bikes have not been fine (short lifespan, poor frame manufacturing tolerances). One of those was so annoying that I sold it. My threaded BB bikes creak sometimes too, but that's usually an easy, non-destructive fix that takes 5 minutes and some grease.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2017
    I now it's a single anecdotal account, but I took a high-end USA made Titanium bike on a 65 mile demo ride last Friday. The bike had 68mm BSA threaded shell with a standard Shimano BB in it. It was creaking terribly from the moment I got on the bike.