RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2014

Internal Cable routing on Canyon frames?

Answers are in post #5.

I'm planning to upgrade the groupset on my Canyon Endurace CF SL Disc 7.0. I'm replacing the 105 5800 with Ultegra R8020 and getting rid of those ugly RS505 hoods.

I've replaced cables on a number of bikes that were internally routed (I'm a total amateur, but I do all my own wrenching), but never on a Canyon. Two questions:

1. For the derailleur cables, should I run straw (liner) inside the frame (over the bare cable) to serve as a guide to run the new cables? Or are there guides inside the frame already?

2. For the rear hydraulic brake line, how best to proceed?

I put hydraulic brake lines in a different bike and had a real struggle running the line through the bend in the BB and out the rear chain stay.

Any advice from someone who has replaced cables on a Canyon would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by fronesis; 2 Weeks Ago at 06:22 PM.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Buy this...

Best thing Park has ever done. For the shift housing do the liner thing for sure.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2017
    I know they can be hard to get in contact with over the phone, but if you can get Luis, or one of the other technical support staff in the phone, they are really helpful.

I changed my entire Cockpit on my 2018 Endurace from the the Canyon ergocockpit to a standard stem and bars. This required changing the stem top cap and acquiring 1 1/4" spacers and steerer cap.

They were very helpful.

The downside for me is they are required to ship everything signature required, which is a pain in the arse for a few small parts.

And I definitely agree with CX on that Park cable routing kit. It saves a bunch of time and frustration.