Mileage out of Campy chains?
    Adrenalina Italiana

Mileage out of Campy chains?

I recently started riding Campy as of July of this year and I can't get over 1000 miles out of a chain before it needs to be replaced. My Dura-ace chains on the other hand can exceed well over 3000 before it stretches....what gives? I don't want to start a heated debate over both brands because I like both the same, but I was wondering If it is only me that finds Campy inferior to Shimano in this department? How many miles do you get out of your Campy chains before you replace?
    " the odds are good, the goods are even odder."

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

it's only you....

You must practice very poor maintenance. My chains show no more than 1/2 of the allowable 1/16" stretch after 3000 miles. I could easily get 6000 miles from a chain, perhaps more.

Here's a technique that will guarantee this type of chain life.