My First $18 Budget Road Bike Build
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2016

Post My First $18 Budget Road Bike Build

Hi, my name is Zac and this is my first road bike. I'm 15 years old and got this bike by buying my two friends dinner at a fast food restaurant just the other day, which ended up costing me $18. It's a Vintage Nishiki bike with a 5 spd Suntour vx, and I plan to make it into my commute bike and also and occasional fun race bike.

I'm trying to keep my upgades for this project under $100 excluding paint costs, and am debating whether to put on my spare shimano acera 7/8 spd derailleur which would cost more for the other parts (Cassette, chain, shifter) or my friends 7 speed which would be almost free (I'll find out tomorrow exactly what it is). I'm planning to get a new seat, groupset, pedals, etc. While also restoring and making the bike beautiful. It would be great to have any suggestions from you guys, as I'm a newb to both this forum and bike building. I'll follow up tomorrow with my color scheme, some of the parts im getting, and what groupset my friends bike has. Thanks!
    IMG_20160723_161000601.jpg

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2016
    Right now the handlebars are just the stock riser/cruiser handlebars twisted horizontally, I kind of like how it looks, although it's not very aerodynamic...

I'd also like to say: This is a budget build, or it is at the moment. The $100 budget is only for essentials to make the bike more functional and to look presentable, I'm not looking to upgrade to some 11 speed-ultra light- super expensive derailleur.

More pics coming tomorrow, thanks!
    7954d2f4-b4cf-4cb0-a84e-b3156ead44de.jpg

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014
    I like your style (getting the bike by buying fast food for friends).

The bike looks pretty rusty. Has it lived outside?

What condition are the wheel bearings, bottom bracket bearings, and headset bearings in.