Pls help: XT Shifter pods, ultegra fd/rd... compatible?

Apr 2004

Pls help: XT Shifter pods, ultegra fd/rd... compatible?

Hi there, im new to road biking, and was mainly a mtb rider...

i just bought a cyclocross frame, and shifting is just plain terrible.. ok my bike (trek xo1) comes stock with crappy stuff (soras), but even when i tried some ultegras on another bike, shifting just wasnt the same as with my MTB XT...

what gives??

im also wondering if it was possible to use xt/xtr shifter pods with shimano road components (ultegra probably).... both are 9 speed, use the same chains.. would it be possible? i like the rapid fire style pods over any of the barend/sti stuff...

well at least i think it will be more useful for the purposes i have for my new cyclocross...

thanks!

NeoRetroGrouch

It will work...

Have 2000 XTR pods with Ultegra front end on a built up flat bar road bike. Works fine.
    Whether it's practical on drop bars is a different story.

TF
    "Don't those guys know they're old?!!"
    Me, off the back, at my first 50+ road race.

Nov 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by jpo245

i just bought a cyclocross frame, and shifting is just plain terrible.. ok my bike (trek xo1) comes stock with crappy stuff (soras), but even when i tried some ultegras on another bike, shifting just wasnt the same as with my MTB XT...

what gives??

im also wondering if it was possible to use xt/xtr shifter pods with shimano road components (ultegra probably).... both are 9 speed, use the same chains.. would it be possible? i like the rapid fire style pods over any of the barend/sti stuff...

well at least i think it will be more useful for the purposes i have for my new cyclocross...

thanks!