R8050 FD went waaaay out of adjustment
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2013

R8050 FD went waaaay out of adjustment

Hi, I'm really new to the world of Di2. I've had it on my bike (as an upgrade) for all of 10 days. The LBS did the build for me (on a S-Works SL4 Roubaix).

The shifting for the first 9 days has been flawless, even surprised how quiet it was when completely abusing x-chaining (Big-Big for example).

I'm running 52/36 R8000 Ultegra cranks and 11-30 R8000 cassette and chain.

Yesterday when riding I thought I was getting some chain rub when in 52-15 and it got worse as moving down the block to the 11 although it was a lot louder than any chain rub I'd had before.
    When I got home I realised that the sound was from the inner FD cage plate rubbing on the back side of the 52T ring, it was waaay over shifting and I can't work out why. I haven't touched a thing as far as adjustment goes.
    I needed to turn the "H" screw about 3-4 times to get the FD back to where it should be which just doesn't make sense as to how it could get so far out of adjustment. Is this sort of thing normal? I'm guessing not.

The only thing that I DID do to the bike the night before was drop my bars down 1 x 5mm spacer and heat the heat shrink tubing around the 2 cables that go into the down tube (the LBS left it un shrunk knowing I was going to drop my bars at some stage) but can't see how either of those actions could effect such a dramatic change in the FD operation.

I have it all working fine now, but was wondering if it is common issue that the FD goes a bit whack like this?
    Last edited by TmB123; 2 Weeks Ago at 05:07 PM. Reason: changed 53/36 to 52/36

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Not common at all. The only thing I can think of is that they didn't set the High limit at all. Weird that it would work fine for a bunch of rides then basically **** itself. Hard to say w/o seeing in person.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,