Running 11 Speed Cassette on a 10 Speed Groupset?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2019

Running 11 Speed Cassette on a 10 Speed Groupset?

TLDR: Is it possible to remove a cog from a 11 speed cassette, then shim the remaining cogs til the spacing is correct for a 10 speed groupset?

Hi guys, I was considering posting this on the Save some weight subforum but felt it was better suited here.

Background:

As a broke college student, I'm currently exploring weight savings on a budget. I've currently got a full chinese carbon bike with a tiagra 4700 groupset. I know, Tiagra isn't what you'd usually go to for weightsavings, but considering the fact that if you exclude the crankset and BB, the more expensive 105 is barely 85g/0.2lbs lighter, I found it to be a pretty good deal. I've bought it as a partial group, and added a SRAM force carbon crank to it which weighs ~10g more than an ultegra crank.

However, another tiagra part that's always bugged me as too heavy has been the cassette. At 10 speeds, the stock cassette weighs a whopping 350g/0.8lbs. I've found this nice and cheap ZTTO 11-28t cassette that weighs only 208g, but the catch is that it's 11 speed.

Therefore I was wondering if anyone's ever tried removing a cog from an 11 speed cassette, and then shimming the remaining cogs until the spacing's correct.

Rub it............
    How about trying to find a Sram 10 speed cassette? Like the PG1070 or the Sram Red?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    You can't fix stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeDaddio

I kind of wish it were legal to staple people in the face.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    Have u considered that u don't use your little fingers or toes much?

... and u're teeth are pretty much useless if you just eat soup?
    BANNED

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member