Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Semi-Synchro and Synchro-Shift together?

15K views 36 replies 4 participants last post by  Steve B. 
#1 ·
I just started playing with Synchro and Semi-Synchro shift on my DI2 setup. I don't see any compelling reason that the two modes must be mutually exclusive. Is there some way to have both functions active together?

#2 ·
Short answer: no; it's either one or the other.

Longer answer: full synchro mostly includes all of what semi-synchro does. That is, when the system, while in full synchro, decides to shift up front it will offset at the rear the same way that semi-synchro does. In addition, while in full synchro you are free to shift the FD manually on your own, whenever you wish. The one thing "missing" from full synchro is that when you shift the FD on your own while in full, there is no offset at the back.

#7 ·
Short answer: no; it's either one or the other.
Ok, thanks for the direct answer. That's unfortunate.

Longer answer: full synchro mostly includes all of what semi-synchro does. That is, when the system, while in full synchro, decides to shift up front it will offset at the rear the same way that semi-synchro does. In addition, while in full synchro you are free to shift the FD manually on your own, whenever you wish. The one thing "missing" from full synchro is that when you shift the FD on your own while in full, there is no offset at the back.
I see them as very different concepts. One moderates the jump in gear ratio when you manually shift the FD, and the other lets you avoid cross chaining and makes it possible to use the right shifter to access your entire gear ratio range without using the left shifter. It should be feasible to integrate the two. However, given that Shimano has dictated it otherwise and I don't have the resources to hack the logic to do something else, it is what it is. :)

#3 ·